跳到内容

TELEFUNKEN 祝贺 Jim “Kimo” West 获得 2021 年格莱美奖

Jim West 在他的私人工作室里,带着一对 TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260。 大卫·戈金摄。
Jim West 在他的私人工作室里,带着一对 TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260。 大卫·戈金摄。

康涅狄格州南温莎,2020 年 XNUMX 月 – Jim “Kimo” West 的“More Guitar Stories”赢得了 2021 年格莱美奖 最佳新时代 专辑。 作为“Weird Al” Yankovic 的多才多艺吉他手,West 也被公认为世界顶级的“slack key”吉他手之一,并为这一伟大的原声吉他传统带来了自己独特的音乐视角。

制作、录制和混音专辑的 West 使用了 TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260 立体声套装,它具有两个精心匹配的麦克风和一个为两个麦克风供电的定制双电源。

“只要我弹吉他,我就一直在做我自己的录音,”韦斯特说。 乐器、演奏者和话筒同样重要。 我一直很喜欢很棒的麦克风,几年前我参加了一场 Weird Al 会议,工程师在不同的乐器上使用了一对 Telefunken M 260 麦克风,我真的认为它们听起来很棒。 我一直很喜欢在某个地方使用电子管的想法,特别是对于原声吉他,因为它增加了非常好的谐波丰富度。 然后我看到 Telefunken 正在制造这些新的小直径电容管话筒。 我最近用一些新电脑、新接口和设备重新布置了我的工作室,我认为是时候买一对新麦克风了。 这些 260 是我的第一选择,它们的声音真的很壮观。”

在 West 的 slack key 吉他生涯中,他并没有专注于学习标准的 riff 和歌曲,而是开发了自己的 slack key 词汇,这现在定义了他对这一伟大传统的非常独特的方法。

“原声吉他是一种复杂的乐器,你必须非常小心隆隆声,有时它的声音太大了,”韦斯特解释说。 “所以麦克风的位置真的很重要。 您要确保远离音孔。 小振膜电容话筒的某些特性使它们真正响应。 我喜欢所有的细微差别,而且小直径的冷凝器真的很突出。 260 的形状加上管子的形状很丰富。 这些话筒听起来真的非常自然。”

“Kimo”在夏威夷被称为“Kimo”,他曾在夏威夷和大陆的大多数 Slack Key 吉他音乐节上演出。 他的演奏曾出现在许多电影、电视节目、迪士尼频道和国家公共广播电台中,并且他与大多数 ki hoa'lu 松弛关键传统的活着的传奇人物分享了舞台。

West 总结道:“这些 260 年代听起来非常自然,带有可爱的和声色彩。”

在此处了解有关 Jim Kimo West 的更多信息并聆听他的音乐: https://jimkimowest.com/

TELEFUNKEN Congratulates Jim “Kimo” West for 2021 Grammy

Jim West in his private studio with a matched pair of TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. 
Photo by David Goggin.
Jim West in his private studio with a matched pair of TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. Photo by David Goggin.

South Windsor, CT, March 2020 – Jim "Kimo" West’s “More Guitar Stories” has won the 2021 Grammy for Best New Age album. Well known as the versatile guitarist for “Weird Al” Yankovic, West is also recognized as one of the world’s top “slack key” guitarists and brings his own unique musical perspective to this great acoustic guitar tradition.

West, who produced, recorded, and mixed the album, used a TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260 Stereo Set, which features two meticulously matched microphones and a custom dual power supply for powering both microphones.

“I've been doing all my own recording as long as I've played guitar,” says West. And the instrument, the player and the microphones are equally important. I've always loved great mics and I was at a Weird Al session a few years ago and the engineer was using a pair of Telefunken M 260 mics on different instruments and I really thought they sounded great. I've always loved the idea of tubes in the chain somewhere, especially for acoustic guitar, because it adds a really nice harmonic richness. And then I saw that Telefunken was making these new small diameter condenser tube mics. I recently redid my studio with some new computers and new interfaces and gear, and I thought it was time to get a pair of new mics. These 260s were my first choice, and they are really spectacular sounding.”

In West’s slack key guitar career, he didn’t concentrate on learning the standard riffs and songs, but instead developed his own slack key vocabulary, which now defines his very unique approach to this great tradition.

“Acoustic guitar is a complex instrument and you have to be very careful of boominess, and sometimes it can just be too big sounding,” West explains. “So mic placement is really important. You want to make sure you stay away from the sound hole. There's something about small diaphragm condenser mics that makes them really responsive. I like all the little nuances, and things really pop out with a small diameter condenser. With the shape of the 260 plus the tube there's a richness there. These mics just sound really, really natural.”

“Kimo,” as he is called in Hawai’i, has performed at most of the Slack Key guitar festivals in Hawaii and on the mainland. His playing has been featured in a number of films, TV spots, the Disney Channel and National Public radio and he has shared the stage with most of the living legends of ki hoa’lu slack key tradition.

West sums it up: “These 260s just sound really natural, with a lovely harmonic coloration.”

Learn more about Jim Kimo West and listen to his music here: https://jimkimowest.com/