انتقل إلى المحتوى

TELEFUNKEN تهنئ Jim “Kimo” West لـ 2021 Grammy

جيم ويست في الاستوديو الخاص به مع زوج متطابق من TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. تصوير ديفيد جوجين.
جيم ويست في الاستوديو الخاص به مع زوج متطابق من TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. تصوير ديفيد جوجين.

جنوب وندسور ، كونيكتيكت ، مارس 2020 - فاز فيلم "More Guitar Stories" لجيم "Kimo" West بجائزة جرامي لعام 2021 عن أفضل عصر جديد الألبوم. يشتهر ويست بكونه عازف الجيتار متعدد الاستخدامات لـ "Weird Al" Yankovic ، كما يُعرف بأنه أحد أفضل عازفي الجيتار "Slack Key" في العالم ويقدم منظوره الموسيقي الفريد لتقليد الغيتار الصوتي الرائع هذا.

استخدم الغرب ، الذي أنتج الألبوم وسجله وخلطه ، TELEFUNKEN مجموعة ستيريو ELA M 260، والذي يتميز بميكروفونين متطابقين بدقة ومصدر طاقة مزدوج مخصص لتشغيل كلا الميكروفونات.

يقول ويست: "كنت أقوم بكل التسجيلات الخاصة بي طالما أنني أعزف على الجيتار". والآلة والعازف والميكروفونات لها نفس القدر من الأهمية. لطالما أحببت الميكروفونات الرائعة وكنت في جلسة Weird Al منذ بضع سنوات وكان المهندس يستخدم زوجًا من ميكروفونات Telefunken M 260 على أدوات مختلفة وأعتقد حقًا أنها بدت رائعة. لطالما أحببت فكرة الأنابيب الموجودة في السلسلة في مكان ما ، خاصة بالنسبة للجيتار الصوتي ، لأنها تضيف ثراءً متناسقًا رائعًا حقًا. وبعد ذلك رأيت أن Telefunken كانت تصنع ميكروفونات أنبوبية جديدة ذات قطر صغير. لقد أعدت مؤخرًا الاستوديو الخاص بي ببعض أجهزة الكمبيوتر الجديدة والواجهات والمعدات الجديدة ، واعتقدت أن الوقت قد حان للحصول على زوج من الميكروفونات الجديدة. كانت هذه الستينيات خياري الأول ، وكانت أصواتها مذهلة حقًا ".

في مهنة West ذات مفتاح Slack Key ، لم يركز على تعلم المقطوعات الموسيقية القياسية والأغاني ، ولكنه بدلاً من ذلك طور مفرداته الخاصة بمفتاح Slack ، والتي تحدد الآن نهجه الفريد جدًا لهذا التقليد العظيم.

يوضح ويست قائلاً: "الجيتار الصوتي هو أداة معقدة وعليك أن تكون حريصًا جدًا على الازدهار ، وفي بعض الأحيان يمكن أن يكون صوته كبيرًا جدًا". "لذا فإن موضع الميكروفون مهم حقًا. تريد التأكد من الابتعاد عن فتحة الصوت. هناك شيء ما حول الميكروفونات المكثفة صغيرة الغشاء تجعلها تستجيب حقًا. أنا أحب كل الفروق الدقيقة الصغيرة ، والأشياء تنبثق حقًا باستخدام مكثف صغير القطر. مع شكل 260 زائد الأنبوب هناك ثراء هناك. هذه الميكروفونات تبدو طبيعية حقًا حقًا ".

"كيمو" ، كما يُدعى في هاواي ، قد أدى في معظم مهرجانات الغيتار Slack Key في هاواي والبر الرئيسي. ظهر لعبه في عدد من الأفلام والإعلانات التلفزيونية وقناة ديزني والإذاعة الوطنية العامة وشارك المسرح مع معظم الأساطير الحية لتقاليد كي هووا سلاك كي.

يلخص ويست الأمر: "هذه الـ 260s تبدو طبيعية حقًا ، مع تلوين متناسق جميل."

تعرف على المزيد حول Jim Kimo West واستمع إلى موسيقاه هنا: https://jimkimowest.com/

TELEFUNKEN Congratulates Jim “Kimo” West for 2021 Grammy

Jim West in his private studio with a matched pair of TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. 
Photo by David Goggin.
Jim West in his private studio with a matched pair of TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260s. Photo by David Goggin.

South Windsor, CT, March 2020 – Jim "Kimo" West’s “More Guitar Stories” has won the 2021 Grammy for Best New Age album. Well known as the versatile guitarist for “Weird Al” Yankovic, West is also recognized as one of the world’s top “slack key” guitarists and brings his own unique musical perspective to this great acoustic guitar tradition.

West, who produced, recorded, and mixed the album, used a TELEFUNKEN ELA M 260 Stereo Set, which features two meticulously matched microphones and a custom dual power supply for powering both microphones.

“I've been doing all my own recording as long as I've played guitar,” says West. And the instrument, the player and the microphones are equally important. I've always loved great mics and I was at a Weird Al session a few years ago and the engineer was using a pair of Telefunken M 260 mics on different instruments and I really thought they sounded great. I've always loved the idea of tubes in the chain somewhere, especially for acoustic guitar, because it adds a really nice harmonic richness. And then I saw that Telefunken was making these new small diameter condenser tube mics. I recently redid my studio with some new computers and new interfaces and gear, and I thought it was time to get a pair of new mics. These 260s were my first choice, and they are really spectacular sounding.”

In West’s slack key guitar career, he didn’t concentrate on learning the standard riffs and songs, but instead developed his own slack key vocabulary, which now defines his very unique approach to this great tradition.

“Acoustic guitar is a complex instrument and you have to be very careful of boominess, and sometimes it can just be too big sounding,” West explains. “So mic placement is really important. You want to make sure you stay away from the sound hole. There's something about small diaphragm condenser mics that makes them really responsive. I like all the little nuances, and things really pop out with a small diameter condenser. With the shape of the 260 plus the tube there's a richness there. These mics just sound really, really natural.”

“Kimo,” as he is called in Hawai’i, has performed at most of the Slack Key guitar festivals in Hawaii and on the mainland. His playing has been featured in a number of films, TV spots, the Disney Channel and National Public radio and he has shared the stage with most of the living legends of ki hoa’lu slack key tradition.

West sums it up: “These 260s just sound really natural, with a lovely harmonic coloration.”

Learn more about Jim Kimo West and listen to his music here: https://jimkimowest.com/