跳到内容

Men At Work 的 Colin Hay 是 TELEFUNKEN 的“Live From the Lab”

多轨 YouTube 频道点击量达到 XNUMX 万

康涅狄格州南温莎,2019 年 XNUMX 月 – 著名表演者/录音艺术家和 Men At Work 主唱 Colin Hay 多年来一直是 TELEFUNKEN 的支持者,目前正在与他的乐队进行国际巡演。 Hay 最近在 TELEFUNKEN 总部停留,为该公司的热门影片拍摄他的热门歌曲“Overkill”的新版本。 “来自实验室”系列,它正在庆祝 YouTube 上的 1 万次观看。

该系列是在公司位于康涅狄格州南温莎的设施中拍摄和录制的,粉丝可以下载表演的未混合多轨文件。 Colin Hay 的视频获得了超过 40,000 次观看:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quzZaJI4b1A

“'Live From The Lab' 系列源于我们对新麦克风的研究、测试和开发极限的需求。” TELEFUNKEN 的运营总监 Alan Venitosh 解释道。 “我们能够将产品从技术人员的工作台带到声场,并通过现实生活中的应用程序运行它们,并以世界一流的艺术家和表演者为测试对象。”

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik 的 YouTube 频道拥有超过 174 个独特的视频和超过 1 万的总观看次数 “来自实验室的生活” 系列不仅成为专业音频行业的重要基石,也是音频和工作室教育界的重要工具。 全球各地的学院和大学现在都在利用这些会议中的多轨音频文件进行教学和演示。

“我回到 Toni Fishman 刚创立公司的时候,Colin Hay 回忆道。 “托尼在洛杉矶的时候,他来到我的工作室,让我试一试 ELA M 251E,我获得并从那时起一直使用,尤其是人声。

然后我就爱上了不同的型号,并得到了一对立体声 AK-47 MkII。 我喜欢录制原声乐器、吉他、号角、钢琴,我的 Telefunkens 一直在使用。”

上世纪1980年代,Men At Work 销售了超过 20 万张专辑,其中包括“Down Under”、“Overkill”和“Who Can It Be Now?”等热门歌曲。 在海伊作为创作歌手、作曲家和多乐器演奏家开始了他成功的独唱生涯之前。 他目前居住在洛杉矶,并在他设备齐全的家庭录音室录制了一系列专辑。 海伊还发展了作为舞台演员的第二职业,并出现在流行的电影和电视节目中。

当被问及他的一对立体声 TELEFUNKEN 大振膜 AK-47 MkII 话筒时,Hay 回答说:“在录音室里,我总是希望有立体声信号进入,用于原声吉他、电吉他、钢琴,或者只是录音一群人在一个房间里。 这是一款音质优美的麦克风,拥有一对立体声麦克风非常方便。”

在旅途中,Hay 与他信任的 FOH 工程师 Kris Truzzi 合作多年,他解释说:“当你在架子鼓前有一个歌手时,试图避免过多的鼓声,特别是钹和军鼓的出血入声非常困难。 德律风根 M80 动圈话筒 有很大的影响力,但不会太多以至于成为问题。”

Truzzi 特别喜欢乐器上的 M80 声音:“M80 是我一直以来最喜欢的长笛麦克风,这要归功于它的低端保真度。 它特别适合某些类型的人声,例如沙哑的女声和男中音。 我们每晚舞台上总共有五台 M80。 我特别喜欢低端的定义——它的丰富性意味着我不需要做太多的 EQ。 我总是尽可能地匹配事物。 它使我在混合和平衡事物方面的工作变得更加容易。”

在参观 TELEFUNKEN 总部拍摄视频后,特鲁齐说,

那是有趣的一天。 每个人都非常照顾我们,他们非常乐于接受。 亲切。 对我来说,它说明了他们作为一个组织的热情程度,以及领导它的关键人物。 这些人不仅仅是制造麦克风的人。 他们对自己正在做的事情充满热情,而且他们显然在创造伟大的工具方面有着情感上的利害关系。 他们还了解麦克风的使用方式,这是一项非常宝贵的资产。”

Colin Hay 补充道:“深入参与音乐的演奏和录制,我喜欢与那些正在做有趣、创新的事情的人建立关系——小公司继续对他们的工作充满热爱和热情。 德律风根员工总是很高兴见到我们,我们很高兴看到由关心我们的人制造的新设备。”

了解有关科林·海的更多信息: http://www.colinhay.com/

观看更多来自实验室的直播

Men At Work’s Colin Hay is “Live From the Lab” at TELEFUNKEN

Multitrack YouTube Channel Hits One Million Views

South Windsor, CT, June 2019 – Renowned performer/recording artist and Men At Work frontman Colin Hay has been a TELEFUNKEN supporter for many years and is presently touring internationally with his band. Hay recently stopped in at TELEFUNKEN headquarters to film a new version of his hit “Overkill” for the company’s popular “Live From the Lab” series, which is celebrating 1 million views on YouTube.

The series is filmed and recorded at the company’s South Windsor, CT facility and offers fans the ability to download un-mixed multi-track files of the performances. Colin Hay’s video has garnered more than 40,000 views:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quzZaJI4b1A

“The ‘Live From The Lab’ series grew out of our need to push the limits of research, test and development of our new microphones.” explains Alan Venitosh, TELEFUNKEN’s Director Of Operations. “We are able to take the product right from the technician’s bench to the soundstage and run them through real-life applications with world class artists and performers as the test subjects.”

With over 174 unique videos and over 1 Million combined views on their YouTube channel, TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik’s "Live From The Lab" series has become an important cornerstone in not only the Pro Audio industry, but also an important tool for the audio and studio education community. Colleges and Universities all over the globe are now utilizing the multi-track audio files from these session for teaching and demonstration purposes.

“I go back to when Toni Fishman first started the company, Colin Hay recalls. “When Toni was in LA, he came up to my studio and let me try out an ELA M 251E, which I acquired and have used ever since, especially for vocals.

And then I just fell in love with different models and got a stereo pair of AK-47 MkII’s. I love recording acoustic instruments, guitars, horns, piano, and my Telefunkens are always in use.”

During the1980s, Men At Work sold more than 20 million albums with hits such as “Down Under”, “Overkill” and “Who Can It Be Now?” before Hay launched his successful solo career as singer-songwriter, composer, and multi-instrumentalist. He currently resides in LA and has recorded a succession of albums at his fully equipped home studio. Hay has also developed a second career as a stage actor and is seen in popular films and TV shows.

When asked about his stereo pair of TELEFUNKEN large diaphragm AK-47 MkII microphones, Hay responded, “There are always situations in the studio where I want to have a stereo signal coming in, for acoustic guitars, electric guitars, piano, or just recording a bunch of people in the one room. It's a beautiful sounding mic, and to have a stereo pair is incredibly handy.”

When on the road, Hay has worked for many years with his trusted FOH engineer Kris Truzzi, who explains, “When you have a vocalist in front of a drum set, trying to avoid too much of the drums and particularly the cymbals and snare bleeding into the vocal is very difficult. Telefunken’s M80 dynamic mics have a nice amount of reach, but not so much that it becomes problematic.”

Truzzi is especially fond of the M80 sound on musical instruments: “The M80 is my absolute favorite flute mic of all time, thanks to its low end fidelity. It’s especially suited to certain types of vocals, such as husky women's voices and male baritones. We have a total of five M80s on stage every night. I particularly like the low-end definition -- there's a richness that means I don't have to do much EQ. I always try to match things up as much as possible. It makes my job in blending and balancing things out that much easier.”

After visiting TELEFUNKEN headquarters for the video shoot, Truzzi says,

That was a fun day. Everybody took very good care of us, and they were very, receptive. Gracious. To me, it speaks to their level of passion as an organization, and the key people leading it. These are not people who are just in the business of making microphones. They're passionate about what they're doing, and they clearly have an emotional stake in creating great tools. They also have an understanding of how the mics are being used, and that's a very valuable asset.”

Colin Hay adds, “Being deeply involved with playing and recording music, I like to have relationships with people who are doing interesting, innovative things -- smaller companies that continue to have a love and passion for what they do. The Telefunken people are always pleased to see us when we drop in and it's good for us to see the new gear that is made by people who care.”

Learn more about Colin Hay: http://www.colinhay.com/

Watch More Live From The Lab