跳到内容

Zoux 探索 Premier TELEFUNKEN C12 Tube Mic

Zoux 和 TELEFUNKEN 的大振膜 C12 电容麦克风。 丹·博伊西拍摄的照片。
Zoux 和 TELEFUNKEN 的大振膜 C12 电容麦克风。 丹·博伊西拍摄的照片。

加利福尼亚州洛杉矶,2022 年 12 月 – 洛杉矶的录音艺术家兼工程师 Zoux 一直在为他的新乐队准备 TELEFUNKEN 的 C12 大振膜麦克风。 作为制作人,他曾与 Macy Gray 等充满活力的艺术家一起使用 CXNUMX,作为巡回艺术家,他曾与 Bono、Elvis Costello 以及已故的 Lou Reed 和 Ronnie Spector 等人一起演出。

祖克斯谈到 TELEFUNKEN的细致C12 重现世界上最受欢迎的老式麦克风之一。 “我是一个忠实的粉丝,多年来一直在使用它,因为你可以在任何东西上使用它并获得惊人的效果。 只需这一个麦克风,您就可以根据需要录制整张唱片。 首先,它是一个很棒的人声麦克风。 鼓舞人心的唱歌,无论我是高音还是唱更亲密的声线,我的声音听起来都很棒。 我已经将它用于与我合作过的男性和女性艺术家,它总是听起来不错。 这是艺术家的最爱,因为他们喜欢它为他们的乐器所做的一切。”

Zoux 与 Macy Gray 合作制作了 Hal Wilner 共同制作的多张专辑。 “她的声音如此独特,在 C12 上听起来很棒,”他回忆道。 “它捕捉到了梅西百货如此广泛的声乐表演; 从尖叫离开而没有扭曲或丢失镜头,或者靠在它耳语上。 或者你可以采取彼得加布里埃尔的方法,它是亲密的、呼吸的,它捕捉到了所有的细微差别。 这是一个麦克风。 我不需要放两个麦克风,因为我不用担心歌手突然大声喊出来。 它可以处理dB吗? C12 刚刚好。 我从来不需要重新剪辑人声。”

Zoux 与 TELEFUNKEN C12。 丹·博伊西拍摄的照片。

作为一名工作音乐家,Zoux 还熟悉电视节目中的多种现场表演,例如 Jimmy Kimmel Live、The Tonight Show、The Ellen DeGeneres Show、The Today Show 和 This Morning。

除了人声,Zoux 还发现 C12 在原声乐器上表现出色:“尤其是在原声吉他上,当我只想做一个麦克风时,我只需将 C12 稍微抬高一点,远离孔朝向颈部。 令人敬畏的结果。”

Zoux C12 的另一个用途是作为头顶空间麦克风。 “我只是一直在鼓上放一对。 这听起来很惊人'——捕捉到了一切。 不严厉。 没有什么你必须开始降低频率的地方。 您可以获得整个套件的出色图像,并且让那些钹漂亮而明亮而不会显得突兀。”

录制钢琴在工程师中是众所周知的对麦克风的真正测试。 “捕捉钢琴显然是一个挑战。 我会在钢琴里面放几对麦克风,我喜欢在钢琴曲线外的房间里使用 C12。 它给了我房间里钢琴的漂亮单声道图像。”

尽管他在洛杉矶的 East-West 等工作室跟踪他的大型作品,但 Zoux 拥有一个令人印象深刻的基于 Mac 的个人工作室,其中包含 Pro Tools、Apogee 和 Burl 转换器、ATC 扬声器以及来自 Manley、Empirical Labs、Neve 的精心挑选的设备、UA、Avalon、Alan Smart 以及各种老式吉他和踏板。 “我有一个新乐队,我用 Neve1073、Distressor 和 C12 剪掉了所有的人声和原声乐器。 我们在四天内剪掉了 12 首歌曲。 我们对它进行了老派训练,进行了长时间的排练,然后就进去跟踪了唱片。”

Skip to content

Zoux Explores Premier TELEFUNKEN C12 Tube Mic

Zoux and TELEFUNKEN’s large diaphgram C12 condenser microphone. Photos by Dan Boissy.
Zoux and TELEFUNKEN’s large diaphgram C12 condenser microphone. Photos by Dan Boissy.

Los Angeles, CA, May 2022 – LA-based recording artist and engineer Zoux has been putting TELEFUNKEN’s C12 large diaphragm mic through it’s paces for his new band. As a producer he has used the C12 with such dynamic artists as Macy Gray, and as a touring artist, he has performed with Bono, Elvis Costello, and the late Lou Reed and Ronnie Spector, among many others.

Zoux speaks about TELEFUNKEN’s meticulous C12 recreation of one of the world’s most sought-after vintage microphones. “I'm a big fan and have been using it for years, because you can use it on everything and get amazing results. With only this one mic, you could record an entire record if you wanted to. First of all, it’s a great vocal mic. Inspiring to sing into, it sounds great on my voice, whether I’m belting out high notes or singing a more intimate vocal line. I've used it for both the male and female artists I've worked with, and it always sounds good. It’s an artist’s favorite, because they love what it does for their instrument.”

Zoux worked with Macy Gray on several albums co-produced by Hal Wilner. “She has such a distinctive voice and sounded fabulous on the C12,” he recalls. “It captured such a wide range of Macy’s vocal performances; from screaming away without it distorting or losing a take, or leaning in on it with a whisper. Or you can take a Peter Gabriel approach where it's intimate, breathy and it captures all of that nuance. This is with one mic. I don't have to put two mics up, because I don't have to worry about the singer suddenly belting it out. Can it handle the dB? The C12 just works. I've never had to recut the vocal.”

Zoux with the TELEFUNKEN C12. Photos by Dan Boissy.

As a working musician, Zoux is also familiar with many types of live performances on television shows such as Jimmy Kimmel Live, The Tonight Show, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, The Today Show, and This Morning.

In addition to vocals, Zoux has found the C12 is excellent on acoustic instruments: “On acoustic guitars, especially, when I only want to do one microphone, I just put the C12 up slightly off the hole towards the neck. Awesome results.”

Another use of the C12 for Zoux is as an overhead spatial mic. “I just leave a pair up on the drums all the time. It just sounds phenomenal’ -- captures everything. Not harsh. Nothing where you have to start dipping frequencies. You can get a great image of the whole kit and have those cymbals nice and bright without being obtrusive.”

Recording the piano is well known among engineers as the true test of a microphone. “To capture the piano is obviously a challenge. I’ll put a few pairs of mics inside the piano and I like to use the C12 in the room outside the curve of the piano. It gives me a nice mono image of the piano in the room.”

Although he tracks his bigger productions at studios such as East-West in LA, Zoux has an impressive personal Mac-based personal studio with Pro Tools, Apogee and Burl converters, ATC Speakers, and cherry-picked gear from Manley, Empirical Labs, Neve, UA, Avalon, Alan Smart, and an assortment of vintage guitars and pedals. “I have a new band, and I cut all the vocals and acoustic instruments with a Neve1073, Distressor and the C12. We cut 12 songs in four days. We old-schooled it, did extended rehearsals, and then just went in and tracked the record.”