跳到内容

丛林城的 Brendan Morawski 和 TELEFUNKEN

Brendan Morawski 手持 TELEFUNKEN ELA M 251E,两侧是两个大振膜 TF11 FET 麦克风。

康涅狄格州南温莎,2021 年 270 月 – 前 TELEFUNKEN 话筒技术员 Brendan Morawski 现在在曼哈顿丛林城录音室的 Alicia Keys 私人工作室担任录音人员,在那里他使用了各种 TELEFUNKEN 话筒,包括罕见的 ELA M 251 大号振膜立体声管电容话筒、ELA M 11E、TF16s、M81 大振膜话筒和 MXNUMX 动圈话筒。

“我们经常使用大振膜 ELA M 251E,这对 Alicia 来说是一个非常好的选择,因为她的动态范围非常宽,唱歌非常低,然后切换到假声。 我们最喜欢的另一个人声话筒是 AR-51 的早期版本,称为 M16,我们仍然使用它很多,”Morawski 说。

莫拉夫斯基出生于康涅狄格州哈特福德,是两位音乐家的儿子,在康涅狄格大学学习古典表演时,他的第一件乐器是巴松管。 他保持活跃,演奏多种乐器,并在哈特福德地区的几个乐团中表演。

在他的成长岁月中,Morawski 完成了多个录音室实习,包括在顶级母带工程师 Bob Katz 的职位。 Morawski 协助 Katz 为 Cassandra Wilson 和 The Krugger Brothers 等艺术家制作了数百张专辑。

2010 年,Morawski 开始在 TELEFUNKEN 总部担任麦克风技术员,在那里他是开发流行的“Copperhead”电容麦克风团队的一员。 他还开始在公司的内部录音室录音,录制的艺术家包括 Jessica Childress、Big Head Todd 和 Max Creek。

他解释说:“TELEFUNKEN 创始人 Toni Fishman 建造了一个录音室,里面有一个很好的控制室,所以我们开始使用这个录音室来研发新产品,并在我在那里工作时开发了 M81 和 M82。”

Morawski 使用一对匹配的 TELEFUNKEN TF11 麦克风为三角钢琴麦克风。

2012 年,Morawski 开始在艾丽西亚凯斯位于丛林城工作室的私人工作室实习,然后担任工程师,在共同所有人/工程师 Ann Mincieli 的领导下。 他设计的一些艺术家包括艾瑞莎富兰克林、碧昂斯、艾丽西亚凯斯、哈里贝拉方特、保罗麦卡特尼、桑蒂戈尔德、漂白剂和杰​​米福克斯。 Morawski 为过去几年中的几部最重要的发行版做出了贡献,包括 Taylor Swift 的“1989”、Rhianna 的“Anti”和 Kanye West 的“The Life Of Pablo”。 由于他在 1989 年对 Taylor Swift 的工程工作,Brendan 在第 58 届格莱美颁奖典礼上赢得了“年度专辑”格莱美奖。

“对于在线表演内容,Alicia 使用 TELEFUNKEN M81 动圈话筒,”Morawski 说,“M81 是一款非常平衡的话筒,它能够很好地捕捉她的高频,而且当我们抽吸它时听起来仍然像一个不错的高端录音室话筒通过 PA 或为视频重新混音时。”

Morawski 最近还参与了 Lil Uzi Vert 的“Eternal Atake”和 Ariana Grande 的“Thank You, Next”,他因此被提名为年度专辑和唱片,并为 Alicia Keys 的新专辑“Alicia”担任混音。

Brendan Morawski and TELEFUNKEN at Jungle City

Brendan Morawski is seen holding a TELEFUNKEN ELA M 251E and flanked by two large diaphragm TF11 FET microphones.

South Windsor, CT, May 2021 – Former TELEFUNKEN microphone technician Brendan Morawski is now on the recording staff at Alicia Keys’ private studio in Jungle City Studios in Manhattan, where he employs a wide range of TELEFUNKEN mics, including the rare ELA M 270 large diaphragm stereo tube condenser mic, the ELA M 251E, TF11s, an M16 large diaphragm mic, and M81 dynamic mics.

“We use the large diaphragm ELA M 251E very regularly, which is a really great choice for Alicia because she has a very wide dynamic range, singing really low and then switching to falsetto. Another one of our favorite vocal mics is an early version of the AR-51, known as the M16, and we still use that quite a bit,” says Morawski.

Born in Hartford, CT, the son of two musicians, Morawski’s first instrument was the bassoon while studying classical performance at the University of Connecticut. He stayed active playing multiple instruments and performing in several ensembles around the Hartford area.

During his formative years, Morawski completed multiple recording studio internships, including a position with top mastering engineer Bob Katz. Morawski assisted Katz in mastering hundreds of albums for artists such as Cassandra Wilson and The Krugger Brothers.

In 2010, Morawski began working as a microphone technician at the TELEFUNKEN headquarters, where he was part of the team that developed the popular “Copperhead” condenser mic. He also began recording at the company’s in-house studio, recording artists such as Jessica Childress, Big Head Todd, and Max Creek.

He explains, “TELEFUNKEN founder Toni Fishman built a recording studio with a nice control room in the facility, so we started using the studio to do R&D on new products and we developed the M81 and the M82 while I was working there.”

Morawski mics a grand piano with a matched pair of TELEFUNKEN TF11 microphones.

In 2012, Morawski began working as an intern and then as a staff engineer at Alicia Keyes’ private studio in Jungle City Studios under co-owner/engineer Ann Mincieli. Some of the artists he has engineered for include Aretha Franklin, Beyonce, Alicia Keys, Harry Belafonte, Paul McCartney, Santigold, Bleachers, and Jamie Foxx. Morawski contributed to engineering several of the biggest releases in the past few years, including Taylor Swift’s “1989,” Rhianna’s “Anti,” and Kanye West’s “The Life Of Pablo.” For his engineering work on Taylor Swift’s 1989, Brendan won a Grammy for “Album of the Year” at the 58th Grammys.

“For online performance content, Alicia uses the TELEFUNKEN M81 dynamic mic,” says Morawski, “The M81 is a very well-balanced mic and it captures her top end really well and still sounds like a nice high end studio mic when we pump it through a PA or when remixing a performance for video.”

Morawski also recently worked on Lil Uzi Vert's “Eternal Atake” and Ariana Grande's “Thank You, Next,” for which he was nominated for Album and Record of the Year, and contributed as a mixer on Alicia Keys’ new Album “Alicia.”