跳到内容

德律风根的历史和起源

TELEFUNKEN 电力公司 诞生于为一些世界上最珍贵的老式真空管麦克风开发修复部件的愿望,从而保护他们的遗产。 现在已经生产了二十多年,钻石系列由历史上最准确的少数几个最受欢迎的话筒组成。 这些麦克风背后的历史在三个最著名的麦克风之间的连接方式上是独一无二的 制造商 有史以来:AKG、Neumann 和 T电风肯. 

 

TELEFUNKEN 的名称可以追溯到 1903 年。该公司最初是 Siemens & Halske 和 AEG(Allgemeine-Elektrizitãts-Gesellschaft,或通用电气公司)的合资企业。 Siemens & Halske 正忙于为德国陆军开发无线通信,而 AEG 则为德意志帝国海军开发无线通信。 当专利纠纷出现时,德皇威廉二世敦促两家集团共同努力,共享公司TELEFUNKEN应运而生。 前缀“tele-”来自拉丁语,表示距离,“funken”是德语,表示火花,或通过电火花工作。 在整个 1900 年代,TELEFUNKEN 凭借包括无线电通信、电视机、电子摄像机、真空管、前置放大器、麦克风等在内的许多企业引领全球技术行业。   

Neumann 公司始于 1928 年 CMV 3(通常称为 Neumann Bottle 麦克风)的问世。 这是世界上第一个批量生产的电容式麦克风,在当时是一项真正的壮举。 CMV 3 配备了 M1 全向极头。 1932 年,Neumann 推出了 CMV 3A,它具有可互换的极头头,包括被称为 M7 极头的心型版本。 当时诺依曼与 TELEFUNKEN GmbH 签订了全球分销协议,因为 TELEFUNKEN 已经建立了强大的全球分销网络。 所有用于广播或出口的麦克风都带有 TELEFUNKEN 菱形标志,而国内产品则带有 Neumann 标志。 

1947 年,Georg Neumann 发布了被认为是他对现代唱片世界最大贡献的 U47。 该设计源于他当时可用的元素,包括为 CMV 7A 使用而开发的 M3 话筒头、可通过军用盈余获得的钢制 TELEFUNKEN VF14M 真空管和定制的绕线 BV8 输出变压器。 U47 麦克风席卷了广播和录音界,尤其是在北美,那里最常见的是颜色较深、细节较少的带状麦克风。 U47话筒以前闻所未闻的高保真度和丰富的细节成为新标准。

从 47 年 U1947 话筒发布到 1958 年,TELEFUNKEN 为 U47 话筒提供了全球分销,当时 Neumann 建立了自己的分销网络。 因此,当时出口的所有 U48 和 U1958 话筒都带有 TELEFUNKEN 钻石标志徽章。 从 5,000 年开始,Neumann 和 TELEFUNKEN 品牌之间没有联系。 据估计,大约生产了 47 架 UXNUMX,包括长机身和短机身版本。  

随着 U47 不再出现在他们的产品线中,TELEFUNKEN 试图用同等口径的话筒替换它,并与奥地利维也纳的 AKG 签约,为其产品线开发新的系列话筒。 AKG 成立于 1947 年,并于 12 年发布了著名的 C1953,以及在此期间其他几款著名的麦克风。 C12 话筒采用 AKG 设计的 CK12 极头, 一个美国人制造的 6072A 真空管和定制绕制的 T14 输出变压器。 该系统设计有一个带有九种不同模式选项的远程极性模式选择器框。 据估计,大约生产了 2,500 个 AKG C12 麦克风。 C12 成为为 TELEFUNKEN 设计的一款新型话筒的基础:ELA M 251,于 1959 年发布。  

ELA M 251 的电路基于与 C12 相同的 CK14 拾音头和 T12 变压器,并具有两种不同的真空管变化。 ELA M 250/251(无后缀)使用TELEFUNKEN AC701k真空管,而ELA M 250E/251E使用6072A真空管,与C12相同。 'E' 名称意味着它是为了出口到德国以外的地方。  

ELA M 250/250E 具有两个指向性选项:心形指向和全向指向。 大约在同一时间,诺依曼推出了 U48。 U48 在设计上与 U47 相同,但具有心形指向性和 8 字形指向性,而 U47 具有心形指向性和全向指向性。 ELA M 251/251E  具有所有三种模式:心形、全向和图 8。 

TELEFUNKEN ELA M 1959 虽然只在 1962 年到 251 年间生产,但被认为是有史以来音质最好的麦克风之一。 尽管 TELEFUNKEN 分发和设计了更多话筒,但 U47 和 ELA M 251 仍然是他们对录音界最著名的贡献。 TELEFUNKEN 真空管与麦克风一起被认为是有史以来质量最高的真空管之一,许多变体如今都非常抢手。 TELEFUNKEN 经历了多次所有权变更和公司迭代,最终在 1985 年停止了任何生产或新开发。 

在 ELA M 251 未投入生产的四个十年中,它获得了有史以来最好的麦克风之一的传奇地位。 其有限的原始产量和脆弱性的结合导致良好的工作条件单元变得越来越稀有和成倍增加价值。 为了说明这一点,《华尔街日报》在 1990 年代写了一篇文章,称最初的 ELA M 251 是 21 世纪最好的整体投资控股之一。 与任何老式电子产品一样,这些原始设备的某些部件开始出现故障,使其中一些无法使用。 看到这款麦克风的潜力和需求,TELEFUNKEN 重生了。 

美国康涅狄格州南温莎市的 TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik 于 2001 年成立,其目的是改造修复部件以保持这些标志性的录音仪器正常工作。 这种热情发展为雄心勃勃的目标,即在声音和结构上重现 ELA M 251 的所有原始荣耀。 ELA M 251 于 2002 年复活并重新发行给录音界,U47 和 C12 话筒紧随其后,并于 2004 年发布。 

U47、C12 和 ELA M 251E 及其变体构成了 TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik Diamond 系列产品线。 这些产品的所有零件都经过逆向工程,并完全按照原件重新制作,以制造新模型并为老式模型提供修复零件。 大部分零件在 TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik 所在的美国加工,每个麦克风系统都是在美国康涅狄格州南温莎手工制造和组装的。  

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik 的梦想仍然是保留这些标志性的麦克风及其历史,同时开发新的麦克风技术,延续高保真录音乐器的传统,造福录音和表演世界。

Skip to content

History & Origin of TELEFUNKEN

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik was born out of the desire to develop restoration parts for some of the world's most prized vintage vacuum tube-based microphones, and in turn, preserve their legacy. Now in production for over two decades, the Diamond Series consists of the most historically accurate versions of a handful of the most sought-after microphones ever made. The history behind these microphones is unique in how they are connected between three of the most notable microphone manufacturers of all time: AKG, Neumann, and TELEFUNKEN. 

 

The name TELEFUNKEN dates back to 1903. The company began as a joint venture between Siemens & Halske and AEG (Allgemeine-Elektrizitãts-Gesellschaft, or General Electric Company). Siemens & Halske was busy developing wireless communication for the German Army, while AEG was doing so for the Imperial German Navy. When a dispute concerning patents came up, German Emperor Kaiser Wilhelm II urged the two groups to join efforts, and the shared company TELEFUNKEN was born. The prefix "tele-" comes from the Latin word for distance, and "funken" is the German word for spark, or to make work through electric spark. Throughout the 1900's TELEFUNKEN lead the global technology industry with a number of ventures including wireless radio communications, television sets, electronic video cameras, vacuum tubes, preamplifiers, microphones, and more.   

The Neumann company began in 1928 with the advent of the CMV 3, commonly referred to as the Neumann Bottle microphone. This was the world’s first mass produced condenser microphone, a true feat at the time. The CMV 3 featured the M1 Omnidirectional capsule. In 1932, Neumann introduced the CMV 3A, featuring interchangeable capsule heads, including a Cardioid version known as the M7 capsule. At the time Neumann had a worldwide distribution deal with TELEFUNKEN GmbH, as TELEFUNKEN had already established a powerful global distribution network. All microphones sold for broadcast or for export were badged with the TELEFUNKEN diamond logo, while domestic products were badged with the Neumann logo. 

In 1947, Georg Neumann released what could be considered his greatest contribution to the modern recording world, the U47. The design stemmed from elements available to him at the time, incorporating the M7 capsule that had been developed for use in the CMV 3A, a steel TELEFUNKEN VF14M vacuum tube that was available through military surplus, and a custom wound BV8 output transformer. The U47 microphone took the broadcast and recording worlds by storm, especially in North America where darker, less detailed ribbon microphones were most common. The previously unheard high fidelity and rich detail of the U47 microphone became the new standard.

TELEFUNKEN provided global distribution for the U47 microphone from its release in 1947 until 1958, when Neumann established their own distribution network. Therefore, all U47 and U48 microphones that were exported in that time period adorned the TELEFUNKEN diamond logo badge. From 1958 on, there was no connection between the Neumann and TELEFUNKEN brands. It is estimated that there were around 5,000 U47’s made, including both long and short body versions.  

With the U47 no longer in their product line, TELEFUNKEN sought to replace it with a microphone of equal caliber, and contracted AKG of Vienna, Austria to develop a new series of microphones for their product line. AKG was founded in 1947 and released the renowned C12 in 1953, as well as several other notable microphones during that time period. The C12 microphone features the AKG-designed CK12 capsule, an American made 6072A vacuum tube, and a custom-wound T14 output transformer. The system was designed with a remote polar pattern selector box with nine varying pattern options. It is estimated that around 2,500 AKG C12 microphones were made. The C12 became the basis for one of the new microphones designed for TELEFUNKEN: the ELA M 251, which was released in 1959.  

The ELA M 251’s circuit was based around the same CK12 capsule and T14 transformer as the C12 and features two different vacuum tube variations.  The ELA M 250/251 (with no suffix) utilizes the TELEFUNKEN AC701k vacuum tube, while the ELA M 250E/251E uses the 6072A vacuum tube, the same as in the C12.  The ‘E’ designation implies it was meant for export outside of Germany.  

The ELA M 250/250E features two polar pattern options: Cardioid and Omnidirectional. Around the same time, Neumann introduced the U48. The U48 is the same in design as the U47, but features Cardioid and Figure-8 polar patterns, while the U47 had Cardioid and Omnidirectional. The ELA M 251/251E was features all three patterns: Cardioid, Omnidirectional, and Figure-8. 

Though only in production from 1959 until 1962, the TELEFUNKEN ELA M 251 is thought to be one of the best sounding microphones ever created. While many more microphones were distributed and designed by TELEFUNKEN, the U47 and ELA M 251 remain their most famous contributions to the world of recording. In conjunction with microphones, TELEFUNKEN vacuum tubes were considered to be among the highest quality ever made and many variations are highly sought-after today. TELEFUNKEN went through a number of ownership changes and company iterations, and ultimately ceased any production or new developments in 1985. 

Over the four decades that the ELA M 251 was not in production it gained legendary status as one of the finest microphones ever. The combination of its limited original production quantity and fragility led the good working-condition units to become increasingly rare and exponentially more valuable. To illustrate this, the Wall Street Journal wrote an article in the 1990's citing the original ELA M 251 to be one of the best overall investment holdings of the 21st century. As with any vintage piece of electronics, certain parts began to fail on these original units, making some of them unusable. Seeing the potential and need for this microphone, TELEFUNKEN was reborn. 

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik of South Windsor, CT, USA was incorporated in 2001 out of the desire to remake restoration parts to keep these iconic recording instruments working. This passion grew into the ambitious goal of recreating the ELA M 251 in all of its original glory, both sonically and structurally. The ELA M 251 was revived and reissued to the recording world in 2002 and the U47 and C12 microphones followed suit and were released in 2004. 

The U47, the C12, and the ELA M 251E and their variations make up the TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik Diamond Series product line. All of the parts for these products were reverse engineered and recreated exactly to the originals in order to manufacture new models and provide restoration parts for the vintage models. The large majority of the parts are machined in America where TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik is located, and every microphone system is hand-built and assembled in South Windsor, Connecticut, USA.  

The dream of TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik remains to preserve these iconic microphones and their history, while developing new microphone technology that continues the tradition of high-fidelity recording instruments that benefit the recording and performing world.