انتقل إلى المحتوى

تاريخ وأصل TELEFUNKEN

تليفونكين إلكتروكوستيك ولدت من الرغبة في تطوير أجزاء ترميم لبعض من أكثر الميكروفونات القائمة على الأنبوب المفرغ قيمة في العالم ، وبالتالي الحفاظ على تراثها. الآن في الإنتاج لأكثر من عقدين ، تتكون سلسلة Diamond من أكثر الإصدارات دقة من الناحية التاريخية من مجموعة من أكثر الميكروفونات المرغوبة على الإطلاق. يعد التاريخ وراء هذه الميكروفونات فريدًا من حيث كيفية توصيلها بين ثلاثة من أكثر الميكروفونات شهرة مصنعين في كل العصور: AKG و Neumann و T.إليفونكن. 

 

يعود اسم TELEFUNKEN إلى عام 1903. بدأت الشركة كمشروع مشترك بين Siemens & Halske و AEG (Allgemeine-Elektrizitãts-Gesellschaft ، أو شركة جنرال إلكتريك). كانت شركة Siemens & Halske مشغولة في تطوير الاتصالات اللاسلكية للجيش الألماني ، بينما كانت شركة AEG تقوم بذلك لصالح البحرية الإمبراطورية الألمانية. عندما نشأ نزاع بشأن براءات الاختراع ، حث الإمبراطور الألماني القيصر فيلهلم الثاني المجموعتين على توحيد الجهود ، وولدت الشركة المشتركة TELEFUNKEN. تأتي البادئة "tele-" من الكلمة اللاتينية التي تعني المسافة ، و "funken" هي الكلمة الألمانية التي تعني شرارة ، أو للعمل من خلال شرارة كهربائية. طوال عام 1900 ، قادت TELEFUNKEN صناعة التكنولوجيا العالمية بعدد من المشاريع بما في ذلك الاتصالات اللاسلكية اللاسلكية وأجهزة التلفزيون وكاميرات الفيديو الإلكترونية والأنابيب المفرغة ومضخمات الصوت والميكروفونات والمزيد.   

بدأت شركة Neumann في عام 1928 مع ظهور CMV 3 ، والذي يشار إليه عادة باسم ميكروفون زجاجة Neumann. كان هذا أول ميكروفون مكثف يتم إنتاجه بكميات كبيرة في العالم ، وهو إنجاز حقيقي في ذلك الوقت. تميز CMV 3 بكبسولة M1 متعددة الاتجاهات. في عام 1932 ، قدم نيومان CMV 3A ، والذي يتميز برؤوس كبسولات قابلة للتبديل ، بما في ذلك إصدار قلبي معروف باسم كبسولة M7. في ذلك الوقت ، كان لدى Neumann صفقة توزيع عالمية مع TELEFUNKEN GmbH ، حيث أن TELEFUNKEN قد أنشأت بالفعل شبكة توزيع عالمية قوية. تم تمييز جميع الميكروفونات المباعة للبث أو للتصدير بشعار TELEFUNKEN الماسي ، بينما تم وضع شارة على المنتجات المحلية بشعار Neumann. 

في عام 1947 ، أصدر جورج نيومان ما يمكن اعتباره أكبر مساهمة له في عالم التسجيل الحديث ، U47. نبع التصميم من العناصر المتاحة له في ذلك الوقت ، بما في ذلك كبسولة M7 التي تم تطويرها للاستخدام في CMV 3A ، وأنبوب تفريغ TELEFUNKEN VF14M الفولاذي الذي كان متاحًا من خلال الفائض العسكري ، ومحول إخراج جرح مخصص BV8. استحوذ ميكروفون U47 على عوالم البث والتسجيل ، خاصة في أمريكا الشمالية حيث كانت الميكروفونات الشريطية الأكثر قتامة والأقل تفصيلاً هي الأكثر شيوعًا. أصبحت الدقة العالية والتفاصيل الغنية التي لم يسمع بها من قبل لميكروفون U47 هي المعيار الجديد.

قدمت TELEFUNKEN توزيعًا عالميًا لميكروفون U47 منذ إصداره في عام 1947 حتى عام 1958 ، عندما أنشأ نيومان شبكة التوزيع الخاصة به. لذلك ، تم تزيين جميع الميكروفونات U47 و U48 التي تم تصديرها في تلك الفترة الزمنية بشعار TELEFUNKEN الماسي. من عام 1958 فصاعدًا ، لم يكن هناك اتصال بين علامتي Neumann و TELEFUNKEN. تشير التقديرات إلى أنه كان هناك حوالي 5,000 من طراز U47 ، بما في ذلك الإصدارات الطويلة والقصيرة.  

مع عدم وجود U47 في خط إنتاجها ، سعت TELEFUNKEN إلى استبدالها بميكروفون من نفس العيار ، وتعاقدت مع AKG في فيينا ، النمسا لتطوير سلسلة جديدة من الميكروفونات لخط إنتاجها. تأسست AKG في عام 1947 وأصدرت C12 الشهير في عام 1953 ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الميكروفونات الأخرى البارزة خلال تلك الفترة الزمنية. يتميز الميكروفون C12 بكبسولة CK12 المصممة من قبل AKG ، صنع أمريكي 6072A أنبوب مفرغ ، ومحول إخراج T14 حسب الطلب. تم تصميم النظام بصندوق محدد للنمط القطبي عن بعد مع تسعة خيارات أنماط مختلفة. تشير التقديرات إلى أنه تم تصنيع حوالي 2,500 ميكروفون AKG C12. أصبح C12 أساسًا لأحد الميكروفونات الجديدة المصممة لـ TELEFUNKEN: ELA M 251 ، الذي تم إصداره في عام 1959.  

استندت دائرة ELA M 251 حول نفس كبسولة CK12 ومحول T14 مثل C12 وتتميز بتنوعين مختلفين للأنبوب المفرغ. يستخدم ELA M 250/251 (بدون لاحقة) أنبوب الفراغ TELEFUNKEN AC701k ، بينما يستخدم ELA M 250E / 251E الأنبوب الفراغي 6072A ، كما هو الحال في C12. تشير التسمية "E" إلى أنها كانت مخصصة للتصدير خارج ألمانيا.  

يتميز ELA M 250 / 250E بخيارين للنمط القطبي: قلبي وأحادي الاتجاه. في نفس الوقت تقريبًا ، قدم نيومان U48. U48 هو نفسه في تصميم U47 ، لكنه يتميز بنماذج Cardioid و Figure-8 القطبية ، في حين أن U47 يحتوي على Cardioid و Omnidirectional. الطراز ELA M 251 / 251E وكان يتميز بجميع الأنماط الثلاثة: Cardioid ، و Omnidirectional ، و Figure-8. 

على الرغم من أنه تم إنتاجه فقط من عام 1959 حتى عام 1962 ، إلا أنه يُعتقد أن TELEFUNKEN ELA M 251 هو أحد أفضل الميكروفونات الصوتية التي تم إنشاؤها على الإطلاق. بينما تم توزيع وتصميم العديد من الميكروفونات بواسطة TELEFUNKEN ، تظل U47 و ELA M 251 أشهر مساهماتهما في عالم التسجيل. بالاقتران مع الميكروفونات ، تم اعتبار الأنابيب المفرغة TELEFUNKEN من بين أعلى مستويات الجودة التي تم تصنيعها على الإطلاق ، وهناك العديد من الاختلافات المرغوبة للغاية اليوم. مرت TELEFUNKEN بعدد من تغييرات الملكية وتكرارات الشركة ، وتوقفت في النهاية عن أي إنتاج أو تطورات جديدة في عام 1985. 

على مدى العقود الأربعة التي لم يكن فيها ELA M 251 قيد الإنتاج ، اكتسب مكانة أسطورية كواحد من أفضل الميكروفونات على الإطلاق. أدى الجمع بين كمية الإنتاج الأصلية المحدودة والهشاشة إلى أن تصبح وحدات ظروف العمل الجيدة نادرة بشكل متزايد وأكثر قيمة بشكل مضاعف. لتوضيح ذلك ، كتبت صحيفة وول ستريت جورنال مقالًا في التسعينيات من القرن الماضي نقلاً عن ELA M 1990 الأصلي ليكون أحد أفضل الحيازات الاستثمارية الإجمالية في القرن الحادي والعشرين. كما هو الحال مع أي قطعة إلكترونية قديمة ، بدأت بعض الأجزاء في التعطل في هذه الوحدات الأصلية ، مما جعل بعضها غير قابل للاستخدام. نظرًا لإمكانية وجود هذا الميكروفون والحاجة إليه ، فقد ولدت TELEFUNKEN من جديد. 

تم تأسيس TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik من South Windsor ، CT ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في عام 2001 بدافع الرغبة في إعادة تصنيع أجزاء الترميم للحفاظ على عمل أدوات التسجيل المميزة هذه. نما هذا الشغف إلى الهدف الطموح المتمثل في إعادة إنشاء ELA M 251 بكل مجدها الأصلي ، من الناحيتين الصوتية والهيكلية. تم إحياء ELA M 251 وإعادة إصداره إلى عالم التسجيل في عام 2002 وتبع ذلك الميكروفونات U47 و C12 وتم إصدارهما في عام 2004. 

تشكل U47 و C12 و ELA M 251E وتنوعاتها خط إنتاج سلسلة TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik Diamond Series. تم إجراء هندسة عكسية لجميع أجزاء هذه المنتجات وإعادة إنشائها تمامًا لتتماشى مع الأصول الأصلية من أجل تصنيع موديلات جديدة وتوفير أجزاء ترميم للموديلات القديمة. يتم تصنيع الغالبية العظمى من الأجزاء في أمريكا حيث يوجد TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik ، ويتم تصنيع كل نظام ميكروفون يدويًا وتجميعه في جنوب وندسور ، كونيتيكت ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.  

يظل حلم TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik هو الحفاظ على هذه الميكروفونات المميزة وتاريخها ، مع تطوير تقنية ميكروفون جديدة تواصل تقليد أدوات التسجيل عالية الدقة التي تفيد عالم التسجيل والأداء.

Skip to content

History & Origin of TELEFUNKEN

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik was born out of the desire to develop restoration parts for some of the world's most prized vintage vacuum tube-based microphones, and in turn, preserve their legacy. Now in production for over two decades, the Diamond Series consists of the most historically accurate versions of a handful of the most sought-after microphones ever made. The history behind these microphones is unique in how they are connected between three of the most notable microphone manufacturers of all time: AKG, Neumann, and TELEFUNKEN. 

 

The name TELEFUNKEN dates back to 1903. The company began as a joint venture between Siemens & Halske and AEG (Allgemeine-Elektrizitãts-Gesellschaft, or General Electric Company). Siemens & Halske was busy developing wireless communication for the German Army, while AEG was doing so for the Imperial German Navy. When a dispute concerning patents came up, German Emperor Kaiser Wilhelm II urged the two groups to join efforts, and the shared company TELEFUNKEN was born. The prefix "tele-" comes from the Latin word for distance, and "funken" is the German word for spark, or to make work through electric spark. Throughout the 1900's TELEFUNKEN lead the global technology industry with a number of ventures including wireless radio communications, television sets, electronic video cameras, vacuum tubes, preamplifiers, microphones, and more.   

The Neumann company began in 1928 with the advent of the CMV 3, commonly referred to as the Neumann Bottle microphone. This was the world’s first mass produced condenser microphone, a true feat at the time. The CMV 3 featured the M1 Omnidirectional capsule. In 1932, Neumann introduced the CMV 3A, featuring interchangeable capsule heads, including a Cardioid version known as the M7 capsule. At the time Neumann had a worldwide distribution deal with TELEFUNKEN GmbH, as TELEFUNKEN had already established a powerful global distribution network. All microphones sold for broadcast or for export were badged with the TELEFUNKEN diamond logo, while domestic products were badged with the Neumann logo. 

In 1947, Georg Neumann released what could be considered his greatest contribution to the modern recording world, the U47. The design stemmed from elements available to him at the time, incorporating the M7 capsule that had been developed for use in the CMV 3A, a steel TELEFUNKEN VF14M vacuum tube that was available through military surplus, and a custom wound BV8 output transformer. The U47 microphone took the broadcast and recording worlds by storm, especially in North America where darker, less detailed ribbon microphones were most common. The previously unheard high fidelity and rich detail of the U47 microphone became the new standard.

TELEFUNKEN provided global distribution for the U47 microphone from its release in 1947 until 1958, when Neumann established their own distribution network. Therefore, all U47 and U48 microphones that were exported in that time period adorned the TELEFUNKEN diamond logo badge. From 1958 on, there was no connection between the Neumann and TELEFUNKEN brands. It is estimated that there were around 5,000 U47’s made, including both long and short body versions.  

With the U47 no longer in their product line, TELEFUNKEN sought to replace it with a microphone of equal caliber, and contracted AKG of Vienna, Austria to develop a new series of microphones for their product line. AKG was founded in 1947 and released the renowned C12 in 1953, as well as several other notable microphones during that time period. The C12 microphone features the AKG-designed CK12 capsule, an American made 6072A vacuum tube, and a custom-wound T14 output transformer. The system was designed with a remote polar pattern selector box with nine varying pattern options. It is estimated that around 2,500 AKG C12 microphones were made. The C12 became the basis for one of the new microphones designed for TELEFUNKEN: the ELA M 251, which was released in 1959.  

The ELA M 251’s circuit was based around the same CK12 capsule and T14 transformer as the C12 and features two different vacuum tube variations.  The ELA M 250/251 (with no suffix) utilizes the TELEFUNKEN AC701k vacuum tube, while the ELA M 250E/251E uses the 6072A vacuum tube, the same as in the C12.  The ‘E’ designation implies it was meant for export outside of Germany.  

The ELA M 250/250E features two polar pattern options: Cardioid and Omnidirectional. Around the same time, Neumann introduced the U48. The U48 is the same in design as the U47, but features Cardioid and Figure-8 polar patterns, while the U47 had Cardioid and Omnidirectional. The ELA M 251/251E was features all three patterns: Cardioid, Omnidirectional, and Figure-8. 

Though only in production from 1959 until 1962, the TELEFUNKEN ELA M 251 is thought to be one of the best sounding microphones ever created. While many more microphones were distributed and designed by TELEFUNKEN, the U47 and ELA M 251 remain their most famous contributions to the world of recording. In conjunction with microphones, TELEFUNKEN vacuum tubes were considered to be among the highest quality ever made and many variations are highly sought-after today. TELEFUNKEN went through a number of ownership changes and company iterations, and ultimately ceased any production or new developments in 1985. 

Over the four decades that the ELA M 251 was not in production it gained legendary status as one of the finest microphones ever. The combination of its limited original production quantity and fragility led the good working-condition units to become increasingly rare and exponentially more valuable. To illustrate this, the Wall Street Journal wrote an article in the 1990's citing the original ELA M 251 to be one of the best overall investment holdings of the 21st century. As with any vintage piece of electronics, certain parts began to fail on these original units, making some of them unusable. Seeing the potential and need for this microphone, TELEFUNKEN was reborn. 

TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik of South Windsor, CT, USA was incorporated in 2001 out of the desire to remake restoration parts to keep these iconic recording instruments working. This passion grew into the ambitious goal of recreating the ELA M 251 in all of its original glory, both sonically and structurally. The ELA M 251 was revived and reissued to the recording world in 2002 and the U47 and C12 microphones followed suit and were released in 2004. 

The U47, the C12, and the ELA M 251E and their variations make up the TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik Diamond Series product line. All of the parts for these products were reverse engineered and recreated exactly to the originals in order to manufacture new models and provide restoration parts for the vintage models. The large majority of the parts are machined in America where TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik is located, and every microphone system is hand-built and assembled in South Windsor, Connecticut, USA.  

The dream of TELEFUNKEN Elektroakustik remains to preserve these iconic microphones and their history, while developing new microphone technology that continues the tradition of high-fidelity recording instruments that benefit the recording and performing world.